Silent Reflection on Silence

5 posters

Go down

Silent Reflection on Silence Empty Silent Reflection on Silence

Post by Lynskha 06.07.24 9:11

I had a quick reflection today as I briefly passed through here and reread some posts that had resurfaced from the past. I found myself thinking about myself, and I couldn't help but think about others here whom I've known for many years.

When I first joined this community many years ago, I used to be more active. I wrote a lot, devoured the posts, but mostly I was an avid writer. Often, I was anxious and eager to share something. I'm happy that I was able to contribute with some things, but on the other hand, I realize the great "noise" that existed within me, which was quickly externalized.

Back then, there were already members here who had been around longer, and they were always more reserved and composed. I don't know if this was due to their nature and personality or if it was also because of the years, the passage of time, and the maturity that it brings.

Today, I find myself much less active and more silent. In part, I believe it's the weight of the years that has brought me the fatigue of everyday life, making me more selective about where I spend my time and energy. But I also believe it's a bit of the maturity that time and experiences bring, whether those experiences were good or not so good. Everything teaches us, and I've become quieter, especially as I realize how much I don't know.

I used to feel knowledgeable about many things, thinking it was just a matter of adding, evolving, and growing. But I got a big reality check and a hard fall as I increasingly saw how little I knew. I'm learning slowly, rereading, perceiving, and accepting.